Skip to content

The Keys That Bind…

March 3, 2011



Our first week in Rift has been very eventful and doubtless a good sign is that I have found plenty of time for playing and little for blog writing…

Within hours of Headstart commencing we found ourselves involved in our first major guild decision whilst trapped in the 4 hour queues of Wolfsbane. After a short conference on Ventrilo we decided to wrap up our tents and relocate to Corthana which has turned out to be the best course of action for us. Fortunately, most of our new recruits also opted to come with us to our new server which was a pleasant surprise.

On the first weekend, TDS, having decided in a close vote to roll Guardian, convened at the portal in Argent Glade, Silverwood for two hours of closing rifts. The event went well from an organisation standpoint, we figured out how form up and edit the raid line-up and use the target marking, etc, etc.

The rifts were good fun and we managed to take down an Aelfwar Vindicator during a Life event, even though our highest level player was only 17. Many of the players were existing members but we did get the opportunity to see some of our new recruits on the battlefield (and duly noted who listens to the raid leader).

The downside was that between the conclusion of the Open Beta and the commencement of Headstart the experience gain for tackling and closing rifts has been significantly reduced. No announcement, no rationale, just players who thought that rifts would be a legitimate method of levelling up being left scratching their heads. I therefore have to retract the comment from my previous article about rifts being a viable alternative for levelling. Currently it’s Quests or Warfronts that are the Levelling Choice du Jour

Another aspect that smacks of last minute inclusion is the heroic quest-line that was introduced to both Freemarch and Silverwood. It appears that both of these have been poorly developed by comparison to the other content in these zones. Firstly, they are received too late, at a time when your character is preparing to leave the zone. Secondly, for the Changeling quest-line, which is the Guardian chain, there is a requirement to loot two items from rift invasion bosses Cinderon and Gnarladon which is akin to guessing next week’s winning lottery numbers. I have managed to obtain the item from Gnarladon and have beaten Cinderon twice without any luck. Now at level 27, and about to leave Gloamwood for Scarlet Gorge, I wonder if I might as well forget about it, which would be a shame for what should be the premium quest content for a zone.

Even though, in my opinion, Trion are 0 for 2 for things changed between Open Beta and Headstart the bulk of the game remains hugely enjoyable and of high quality. We have a healthy influx of recruits who are currently going through the voting process and the guild is getting close to hitting level 3. Realm of the Fae has taken a good pasting from guild groups as players experiment with different roles – I actually missed an opportunity to see Aainu tanking!

If you have made it this far into the article and are wondering what any of this has to do with the title of the post then you are about to be enlightened. I have been, to all intents and purposes, a ‘clicker’ in MMOs. That is somebody who predominantly uses the mouse pointer to select the skills and a spells they use from the hot-bar. For Rift I have decided to try key-binding which involves mapping particular skills and spells to specific key presses to save time. Binding keys is, apparently, the control mechanism of choice for players with u83R L33t sKiLz but I wanted to try it anyway to see if it would give me better results. I also purchased a gaming mouse with more buttons than an Empire State Building elevator to give me a boost and I am now in the process of having another finger genetically spliced onto my right hand so that I can use it.

I have adapted to it (key-binding, not the extra finger) faster than I expected and during regular play it is very easy and intuitive, especially being able to spend more time focusing on the middle of the screen where all the action is. Sometimes when things get a little frantic my mind will freeze but I am hoping it is just part of the learning curve.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sullivan permalink
    March 4, 2011 01:41

    well well well – next thing on the list MUST be a G19 keyboard then 😀

    i do so love having vent show up on the little lcd screen it has.

    funny you should mention key bindings, as i am trying to improve my targeting via the G19’s macro keys.

    no luck so far as i keep forgetting to use them, but perhaps this comes from years of just targetting thru the tank…? and to think they call us dps slack! 😛

  2. Goldenpaw permalink
    March 4, 2011 09:24

    Yay! I’m so happy to have The Wimpy Dirge coming back up again 🙂 What mouse did you get by the way?

  3. Eledhel permalink
    March 7, 2011 01:56

    Sulli I dutifully put a whole series of key commands into my G15 keyboard when I got it…and then never used them as when it comes to targetting I find myself too busy to play with more buttons.

    So I have a nice fancy keyboard that impresses friends who play WoW when they visit the house. And that’s it…

    And I second Gold, good to have The Wimpy Dirge back up and running.

Leave a Reply

